ACS Fellows

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and ACS."  The first class of ACS Fellows was named in 2009.

Nominees for ACS Fellow must be current members in good standing with the American Chemical Society [ACS]. The selection of ACS Fellows is based on documented excellence and leadership in BOTH of two areas: (1) science, the profession, education, and/or management, AND (2) volunteer service in the ACS Community. Nomination documents must address BOTH of these areas. 
1.Excellence and leadership that have a lasting beneficial impact in science, the profession, education, and/or management. Appropriate activities might include, but are not limited to, the following:
 •Outstanding and creative contributions to scientific research 
 •Superior achievements in the teaching and learning of chemistry
 •Strong, effective leadership or managerial excellence in an organization within the chemical enterprise 
2.Volunteer service in the ACS Community resulting in significant enhancements to ACS programs, products, or services. Appropriate activities might include, but are not limited to, the following:
 •Outstanding leadership, documented through specific results achieved, of a Division, Local Section, regional meeting, national meeting and/or international conference
 •Exceptional assistance, as an unpaid volunteer, in the publication of scientific information (not including routine authorship or reviewing publications associated with one's own research)
 •Organization of especially significant symposia, major presentations, or other programming at national/international meetings
 •Leadership or other outstanding contributions to public outreach activities, such as National Chemistry Week and Chemists Celebrate Earth Day
 •Effective communication to the public of the value of the chemical sciences or chemical professionals through the press, radio, TV, or other electronic media

Nominations can be submitted by ACS National Committees, Technical Divisions, Local Sections and individual members. 

Fellows are selected by a broadly representative Selection Committee appointed by the Board Committee on Grants & Awards, which has governance oversight for the program. 


ACS Fellows are recognized and honored at the Fall ACS National Meetings. Each Fellow receives a lapel pin and a certificate. 

South Carolina Section Recipients

 2010  W.H. Breazeale, Francis  Marion University

2010 John Dawson, University of South Carolina
2010 C. Gordon McCarty, University of South Carolina Beaufort

2011 Daniel J. Antion, University of South Carolina
2011 Michael A. Matthews, University of South Carolina
2011 Hans Conrad zur-Loye, University of South Carolina

2012 James Ritter, University of South Carolina

2014 Patrick M. Woster, Medical University of South Carolina

2016 Scott Goode, University of South Carolina

2016 Susan Richardson, University of South Carolina 

2017 Regis Goode, Ridge View High School