The South Carolina section is pleased to offer a number of awards.  Please notice the deadline dates which differ by award.  Nominations not selected are are kept in the pool for consideration for three subsequent years.  Updates may be made at any time.

Outstanding South Carolina Chemist

Nomination Deadline: January 31.

The recipient must be a member of the South Carolina Section. 

Send nomination letter and supporting documents to W.H. Breazeale, Jr.  via email or via US Mail to 715 High Battery Circle, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464


Dr. Donna A. Chen, Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry at the University of South Carolina is the 2017 South Carolina Chemist of the Year. She joined the faculty at USC in 1999 and has established a research program that has received both national and international attention.Her research area is in the area of materials physical chemistry and focuses on understanding surface chemistry at the atomic and molecular level.  

She received her BS from the Rochester Institute of Technology, her MA and Ph.D. from Harvard University, and did a post-doc at the Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, CA. 

She has participated in research grants that have generated over $8 million in funding from the Army Research Office, NSF, DOE, DOD, NASA, and PRF.  Seventeen  graduate students, 20 postdoctoral associates, 16 undergraduate students and two high school students have been mentored by Dr. Chen.  She has 56 peer-reviewed publications . 

Her many honors include  the 2016 USC Educational Foundation Research Award, the 2010 Michael J. Mungo Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the 2008 South Carolina Governor's Young Researcher Award. 


Daniel J. Antion High School Teacher of the Year

Nomination Deadline: January 31

The recipient must teach chemistry in a high school within the geographic boundaries of the South Carolina Section.

Send Nomination Form and supporting documents to Scott Goode via email or US Mail to Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29208




Laura E. Slocum of Heathwood Hall Episcopal School in Columbia has been named the recipient of the 2017 James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemistry Teaching, sponsored by the Journal of Chemical Education and ChemEd X.  She received her award at the Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, in conjunction with the 253rdACS National Meeting in San Francisco, CA.  The award sponsored by Thermo Fischer Scientfic, Inc. is the American Chemical Society's highest honor that is presented to a high school teacher. The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate.  Laura serves as an alternate councilor for the South Carolina Section.


E. Ray McAfee Distinguished Service to the Section

Nomination Deadline: January 31

Send nomination letter and supporting materials to Neal Tonks  via email .

Outstanding Undergraduate Chemistry or Biochemistry Major

Nomination Deadline: March 15

Each 4-year college or university within the geographic boundaries of the South Carolina Section is allowed to nominate one  chemistry or biochemistry graduate during the current academic year to be recognized by the section.  Each institution may nominate only one student who has a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA is free to devise their own selection mechanism.  Please send the appropriate nomination form to James P. Deavor via email or US Mail to School of Sciences & Mathematics, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 29424.


The following undergraduate chemistry and biochemistry majors students were honored at the 2017 awards meeting. 

 Charleston Southern Jessica N. Crane
 The Citadel
 Sean M. Brennan
 Claflin University Kadejah Johnson
 College of Charleston
 Nicholas Taylor
 Coker College Sydney A. Gaster
 Francis Marion University
 Patel Sharad
 South Carolina State University
 Marketa Marcanikova
 University of South Carolina William Ray Capell

Outreach Volunteer of the Year

Nomination Deadline: November 30


This award is given in conjunction with the ACS national Committee of Community Activities (CCA) which established the Local Section Outreach Volunteers of the Year recognition program. Each local section has an opportunity to recognize one individual annually for demonstrating extraordinary outreach volunteer service within the section. The recipient must be a member of the South Carolina Section.

Send nomination letter and any supporting documents to James P. Deavor via email or US Mail to the School of Sciences & Mathematics, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 29424.


Dr. Pamela Riggs-Gelasco, Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry of the College of Charleston was announced as the recipient of the 2017 award.  Through her Howard Hughes Medical Institute Grant, the department has provided outreach opportunities to local pre-college students.  Each year hundreds of students from Title I schools such as Burke High School and Mitchell Elementary come to campus for hands-on experiences.  Participation in the Annual STEM Education Day also brings over 1500 students to campus from area elementary and middle schools.   Although relying on the help of many faculty members to accomplish these activities, it is her grantsmanship and leadership that made this possible.



Industrial Innovation Award

Nomination Deadline: January 31

This award celebrates successful innovations of industrial chemists and chemical engineers that contribute to the health of their local and regional economy and the corporate leadership for its advancement of a healthy economy. Awards are given to individuals and teams whose creative innovations have contributed to the commercial success of their company and, consequently, to the good of the community and society.

Send nomination letter and supporting documents to James P. Deavor via email or US Mail to the School of Sciences & Mathematics, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC 29424.

Counties within the South Carolina Section

50 and 60 Year Service Awards

The 50 and 60 year service awards are presented by the Section on behalf of the AmericanChemical Society.


The following local section members  were acknowledged for their years of service to the Society at the 2017 Awards banquet: 

50 Year Members

   Dr. Marion Doig, III                        Dr. Julian McGill

   Ms. Barbara Eggers-Parker          Mr. Charles Muller

   Dr. Daniel Reger                             Mr. James Johnson                      

   Mr. Harold Weber                          Mr. John Locke, Jr.

   Dr. Alan Williams

 60 Year Members 

   Mr. John Bertels                            Dr. John Herron

   Dr. T.R. Mueller                              Dr. Richard Partyka

Facebook Like Button

ACS Videos

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Facebook Fanpage Box